The Memory Quilt Header

Yesterday the launch of the In Memory of Quilt took place and I was still a little hesitant as to the response. Well, I need not have worried. The response has been wonderful and I thank you for writing to me, sharing and simply saying what a great idea!

Someone wrote to me though, and asked about the quilt on the header page of this blog. I promised to share the details, so here they are.

About three or four years ago Mum started working on a quilt. She wanted to create a completely random quilt. I thought it was a great idea and cheekily said “make one for me”. About six months later Mum came to stay for a few days. I asked her if she was moving in, as she had numerous bags with her. Ignoring the comment and giving me one of “those looks” Mum said with a smile that she had a couple of quilt tops with her.

After she had a short rest Mum opened up the bags and produced quilt one. I looked, commented that I loved the random colours. Mum whipped it away and produced quilt two.

photo

Quilt Two

photo 1

Quilt One

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At that point I assumed Mum had simply shown me quilt one again, and when I asked Mum, she showed me both quilts at the same time. No I wasn’t seeing double. There were two quilts.

On discussion it appeared that Mum had made two quilts, several weeks apart. The material selected from her vast arsenal and completely at random; and yet she had made two quilts almost identical.

They were never quite finished, although Mum had all the bits and pieces to do so. As most quilters (and book readers) will confess too, you can never have too much material, ideas, “stuff” (and books).

This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

