Quilt Scribbles – Our Feathered Friends

When I was small and my Grandfather was in hospital there was a robin that used to sit on the back fence. My grandmother used to save the crusts from the bread for me to put them out for the bird. I used to wait patiently to see the bird, but he was clever and always waited for me to be called away before he arrived for his bread snack. After my Grandfather passed away in July 1974 the robin stopped visiting.

My Grandmother had an aversion to robins after then and as illogical as it seems Mum and my Grandmother would always hid any Christmas cards with robins on the front to the back of any festive display.

The reality is that our poor feathered friend could have been eaten by a larger bird, a fox or simply found a better culinary delight somewhere else.

Over the years I spoke with Mum about this on many occasions. Did my Grandmother think there was anything in this? Mum always said she didn’t know, often commented “who knows”

I therefore write the following with a degree of caution and am very aware that I am going to sound a little strange! bear with me.

During the course of last week I noticed a Yellow Great Tit in the garden. That is quite rare, I live on the coast therefore we typically get more seagulls than anything else. I noticed the bird, sitting on the “No Fishing Sign” we have in the garden. I watched it out of the window and eventually it flew off. I thought nothing more of it, until later in the week I noticed the same bird, (well the same variety) was back. Then yesterday I was making the bed and looked out of the window to see a Yellow Great Tit sitting on the windscreen wipers of our car.  It was there quite a while, certainly long enough for me to get my iPhone, fiddle about to get the camera working and then fiddle about some more to get the picture zoomed (and hopefully not blurry).Birdy

I am not exactly sure what I am thinking, suggesting or intimating, but the little bird and the story of the robin from my childhood somehow resonates with me.

What do you think?

(edited 20th May as Sue Adams advised it is a Great Tit not yellow!)

This entry was posted in All about Mum, Family History and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quilt Scribbles – Our Feathered Friends

  1. Denise says:

    I love robins & little tits. I really enjoy seeing them, they are a real delight. I wouldn’t read too much into them being around, then disappearing. They do that & as you say, they could be eaten by another bird or something else or go to a new location.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The logical bit of my brain tells me that Denise, but in 17 years I do not recall every seeing a yellow tit in the garden. It is probably for any one of a hundred of reasons why it was in the garden several times and on the windscreen wipers. I guess as someone who likes to understand the reasoning behind things I hate it when the answer is just because!

      Like

Leave a Reply

