Medical Records – Part Three

Yesterday was an eventful and emotional day. Firstly I sat and watched the BBC programme that was broadcast on Monday evening about Polio. I will write again about this as it was fairly thought-provoking.

Then the doorbell rang and there was the postman clutching a large blue packet that needed to be signed for.

10361166_10152504404180439_935227695_nThis tome of paper is the medical notes for Mum that represents her time at Exeter, effectively 10th January through until 6th February 2014.

There is 475 pages of data. I had a glance through and at first glance there are some pages missing. A second glance reveals that pages are not necessarily in date order.

I have read a few entries, several of which made me smile. Here is one of them.

Christine refused xxx. There was no scope for negotiation.

That was Mum, once she had made her mind up there was very little room for negotiation; that was unless you had the knack. I have the knack after many years of practice 🙂

I am not going to go into lots of detail with the more recent medical records as I do not know how things will pan out.  I will though, explain the process, protocol and the frustrations of how two hospitals in the same county have very different policies, even down to the interpretation of the Department of Health guidelines at a later date.

Needless to say, dealing with the other local hospital last week, I thought my head was going to explode. I rarely get really angry, because life is too short, but angry does not cut how I felt one day  last week. I was simply furious.; and I still am.

This entry was posted in All about Mum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Medical Records – Part Three

  1. Denise says:

    Sending lots of ((((((HUGS)))))) & XXXXXXKISSESXXXXXX & tons of support.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my…laughing and crying for you at the same time. Boy howdy I hear ya on the moms of no negotiations (unless you know the way around!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

