Quilt Scribbles ~ Benches, Plaques and Happy Memories

The last month or so has been very busy and exciting with family here from down under! During the course of their visit, I thought many times that I wished Mum was here. To share the laughter, enjoyment and to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.

I know that I have not mentioned before, but after the ceremony I had Mum’s ashes returned to me. As we have a house move on the cards, I wanted to ensure we were settled before parting deciding how to commemorate Mum’s life in a typical & visual fashion. I didn’t want Mum’s headstone to become something that no one visited. For me it was important that her life was commemorated somewhere, but as I considered and explored various options nothing felt right.

Castle 1

Guildford Castle ~ J Goucher July 2014

Then last week, we stopped at Guildford, on route to London. We spent some time wandering around the usual places and then a visit to the Castle.

I spent many afternoons with my Grandmother at the Castle. First stop was to the buttery outside the grounds where we would purchased an ice cream. We then moved into the Castle grounds and sat watching the lawn bowls.

Castle 2

Overlooking the Bowling Green ~ J Goucher July 2014

We had “our bench”, a pretty grim and non de-script bench. In fact it wasn’t really a bench. It was several slats of wood set between the garden walls.

I was disappointed to see as I walked around alone that “our bench” had gone and was replaced with a garden bench, which looked much nicer, bit yet, not the same.

I have such happy memories and somehow, for reasons completely unknown to me I felt that a plaque on a bench here to commemorate my Grandparents and Mum was the way to go.

Currently the town where I live is a few hundred miles away from Guildford, and going forward it will be many more miles than that, but a plaque and commemoration here feels absolutely the right thing. Of that I am sure.

 

This entry was posted in All about Mum, Family History, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

