Mum and Royal Artillery Attestation Papers (1883 – 1942)

Today I miss Mum even more than usual.

Yesterday, FindmyPast announced that they had released as part of their 100 record sets in 100 days the Royal Artillery Attestation Papers (1883 – 1942).

I already have my Grandfather’s military record which I ordered from Veteran Affairs back in 2008. The day it arrived I was away and Mum was as excited as I was to see what the record said.

This morning I went to the search facility and inserted my Grandfather’s name along with his year of birth (1908) and his service number which I knew from his military pay book. I hit search. Then, up popped a reference.

GBM-ROYALART-1745001-1746000-00101

Courtesy of FindMyPast (findmypast.co.uk)

I was surprised as usually anything in more recent times is withheld, but sure enough it was a document relating to my Grandfather. And something not seen before.

GBM-ROYALART-1745001-1746000-00101_edited

Courtesy of FindMyPast (findmypast.co.uk)

I so wish Mum was here to see the document, with the few details as it reveals.

 

About Julie Goucher

Genealogist, Author, Presenter, native Guildfordian, avid note taker and journal writer. Lover of Books, Stationery & History; Surnames, Butcher & Orlando One-Name Studies. Pharos Tutor for all One-Name Studies/surname courses as well as Researching Ancestors from Continental Europe.
This entry was posted in Family History and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mum and Royal Artillery Attestation Papers (1883 – 1942)

  1. Steve says:

    I know what you mean about missing your Mum – I’m finding out so much about her Atcherley ancestors and so wish I could share all the new information with her. I found 2 Atcherleys myself in the Royal Artillery records, both descended from Mum’s great grandfather Henry Atcherley. One passed away over 25 years ago so I’m mulling over whether I should get a death cert and then cough up £30 for his service record!

    Like

    • I was lucky enough to inherit my Grandfather’s medals and his pay book. When I decided that I wanted to get the service record I sent the documents in the paper trail – death certificate from both my Grandparents and the next of kin form which Mum signed and then I wrote the cheque. I copied the front page of his pay book with the service number. I had a letter advising me that the search time was 6 months. The service record arrived after 6 weeks. So it does depend how much documentation you send that confirms the paper trail.

      Congratulations on your finds too, it is lovely to discover something and I would probably send off for the records.

      Like

Leave a comment