In Memory of Quilt – Square One

Last Friday this photo 1 (7)package arrived from Lesley with the first square. I was immediately taken with the softness of the material, the lovely blue colour.

Then I opened the small bow to see the embellishment on the inside.

photo 2 (1)

 

 

 

 

This lovely square is submitted in memory of her Mum, Vivienne who died too young. The material is a beautiful blue velvet. The square measures approximately 6 inches by 5 inches. I was intrigued by the beads. What was their story?

Then yesterday I received the write up from Lesley who has cross posted today. Here is what is said

 

‘This is the story of my square.
 
When I turned 16, I had reached a rite of passage for girls in the family. The right to go down to Chinatown and choose an ornate, carved wooden kist. This kist would be with me for ever, my own precious memory box. It was Granny’s tradition. Each of her three daughters had received a kist on their 16th birthday, and in turn each of her three female grand children received the precious gift.
 
Also on my 16th birthday, my mother gave me a down comforter, covered in moth-eaten pink satin. It had belonged to my paternal grandmother. Mom and I went to the fabric shop to choose new material to re-cover it. I chose a midnight blue velvet, and I still love the feel of it. Mom did a fine job, even covering the buttons. The blue velvet remains as vibrant as ever. 
 
Mom was very thrifty, and gave me the left over fabric. ‘Put it in the kist’, she said. ‘You never know when you might need it’. I can still hear her voice.
 
So I did put it into the kist, and last week, Julie’s project sparked a memory. I unpacked the kist, and there it was. Perfect as the day it went in. Blue velvet for my quilt square.
 

Mom loved beads. She was a colourful woman, and always co-ordinated her beads with her clothes. On the day of her funeral, Mom’s sister took most of the beads, leaving me with just a few of my favourites. They sit in Mom’s little bead box, unworn, but admired most days. How fitting then, to use some of Mom’s beads to decorate her square.’

Such a beautiful tribute to another Mum who was taken too soon, whose words of wisdom, along with the love of beautiful and colourful things is shared with us all here.

In Memory of Vivienne (1944 – 2011)

About Julie Goucher

Genealogist, Author, Presenter, native Guildfordian, avid note taker and journal writer. Lover of Books, Stationery & History; Surnames, Butcher & Orlando One-Name Studies. Pharos Tutor for all One-Name Studies/surname courses as well as Researching Ancestors from Continental Europe.
This entry was posted in Squares - Quilt 1 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to In Memory of Quilt – Square One

  1. Pingback: Desk Ramblings…..(19) | Anglers Rest

Leave a comment